Ten Strategies to Improve Productivity

For many of us, the struggle of this time of year is to maintain the momentum we had in January and keep it going all year in terms of productivity. With that in mind, I want to take a little time today to walk through ten things I try to do and think about when looking to maintain or increase my productivity.

Organize Your Space

Most of the time, I’m a professional academic. For writing and research, that means often needing obscure books from my collection, which I’ve amassed over the past decade in academia.

It’s a big waste of time, and often derails whatever I was thinking when I have to look for a book and can’t find it. This winter, I took the time to alphabetize the whole collection, which has sped things up. Getting organized is a good first step to being more productive.

Prioritize Your Plans

For a lot of us, work and life are more complicated than they were before. My workdays, for example, involve two teaching jobs at two different universities, as well as writing my own academic work and freelance writing.

When there’s a lot to do, one thing that helps me is to make a clear list of priorities for the day, week, and month, and to work on things in order of their urgency. It doesn’t change the total amount of work you have to do, but doing this might help you decide what to work on next.

Be Wary of Overload

With so many different things to do, it’s easy to decide, on paper, to work as many hours a day as possible. I don’t think that this is a winning strategy for the long term, leading to people burning out and quitting on things that are important to them.

Instead, make sure that you’re caring for yourself as well. Food, water, sleep, and rest are not luxuries, they are building blocks for everything else that you need to get done.

Plan Your Breaks